Maybe I’m not cool enough

Maybe I’m not cool enough to understand modern art.  I took this quiz on Buzzfeed: http://www.buzzfeed.com/jenlewis/quiz-can-you-tell-the-difference-between-modern-art-and-art, and got mst of the answers wrong.  Now, I can sit in front of a Manet for hours (I have, actually) or spend the entire day at The Metropolitan Museum of Art.  But a visit to the Museum of Modern Art(MoMA) and Whitney leaves me completely and utterly dissatisfied — angry even!  Why am I staring at a giant 3-D furry yellow exclamation point in the middle of the floor, Whitney?! WHY?  Why is there a video of a naked woman running in a field intercut with scenes of a swimming amoeba , MoMA? WHAT DOES IT MEAN?

Maybe I’m doing it wrong?  Can you do art wrong?  Is the mere fact that I am having a reaction to the pieces, albeit negative, still an artistic experience?  I don’t know and I probably don’t have the intellectual capacity to answer those questions.  I do know that my 19 year old cousin needs to get her self to an art gallery and exhibit her pieces.  Here are some:

IMG_0139

IMG_9827

1266476_10151831080209861_905208397_o

She’ll probably punch me for sharing these but she’s talented as hell and deserves some recognition.

That’s my rant for today.  Hope you enjoy these paintings.

One thought on “Maybe I’m not cool enough

Leave a Reply

